'Pause' wins a WAM SOTY

12 Apr 2016 | News

Marksman Lloyd, Coin Banks & Sable have won a WAM Song Of The Year for 'Pause'.

The song won in the Urban/Hip Hop category.  Other nominees in that category were TERA, The Brow, Bluntfield and Billy Harris, and Safe Sex.

Western Australia Music "Song Of The Year" is WA’s premier song competition, and one of Australia’s biggest.  Its aim is promoting the talented, original songwriting of West Australian residents and embracing contemporary music of all genres, in addition to offering school-age, indigenous and regional categories.  The winners were announced at the award night on the 9th of April, with homegrown talent playing live on the night to an audience comprised of fans and industry alike.

The song "Pause" was written by Marksman Lloyd and Coin Banks, with production by Sable.  It features singing by Nic Di Lena.

Marksman Lloyd says about the song: "Pause is a song about stopping to reflect on all the amazing moments that we let slip when we're too caught up in the rat race.  It's not so much about living in the moment as it is appreciating the moment and remembering how blessed we can be to be a part of this strange thing called life."